jump to navigation

| a lecture from dean peter lim | July 9, 2007

Posted by jomaykulit in column 1, Words from the Dean.
trackback

When I was in my last leg in college, sir peter lim (who is now the dean of the Faculty) has said these words. It may not be accurate (I try to restore the sentences of course), but I know that when he reads it, the idea is there. While he was doing his homily, his tone has a touch of frustration albeit motivating. The gesture imposing and the expression I find inspiring. It was a lazy afternoon but along with the lecture I try as much as possible, jot every word that comes out of his lips.  I couldn’t remember what my last article was in the thomasian engineer journal, but during that time, I was looking for a topic. Dunno what happened but this is not what it contained. As I clean my folders here on my pc, I have read ‘unfinnished articles’ containing this piece of writing. After experiencing the alumni homecoming, I saw LAB 6 newsletter as an opportunity to spread the word. So here I am. And now that sir peter is dean, I wonder, what changes he can make for our dear faculty. One of the many wishes I have is for him to give the opening remarks for TE’s annual GIQC to which former dean docmab never miss a speech along with the words ‘I give a bias for academic activities’.

 ___________________________________________________________ 

Why are we studying this subject(water resources)? To show us that this is a field where we can practice engineering. Why? Because there is glamour but cheap. Ang daming kumukuha……………a lot is left unexplored………..But UST is a structural engineering school. Teacher instill that this is in and that water is not adaptable.. There are big projects you don’t come along everyday……..this isn’t life threatening… read about the sept 22…………….Israel and Liban used river (the importance of water in rivers) Most people fail because they can’t see the use! Algebra is easier. Very foreign. Ultimately you fail! Because you can’t understand. An article was shared in the faculty about the criteria for a good teacher..- did I make you think? What did you think? You can use glamour for a while but you can’t substitute competence… When I look at a student, to pass have nothing to do if you know or not….. there are words I can speak that we can’t speak before. You have to realize that this is a percentage of your training. Work harder. You should do it because you want to learn. I’m in a protest. We just gave up the chance. I require you to understand. There are two ways. Covering more in shallower terms or deeper with shorter terms. Your board will be useless. Soon you will forget engineering. Things has to come naturally. Enjoy what you do! Normally, we’re serious. That’s a common problem associated with newly grad. But you have to choose. Now, mahirap ang trabaho… as of now, it looks as if this is an important thing in your life. I don’t expect you to know everything!! It doesn’t matter with me. I thrive with it………… Sa engineering it is seldom to experience failure. You are trained to face your failure. CE is an action course where most of the activity is in the field. It’s very sophisticated. In application, I know nothing. I try to instigate my experience. But still our department is “contrasting”………….don’t want change….. don’t want risk.. CE should be dynamic! (There’s) no planning! I’m very frustrated……….. but w/ or without you, UST is still UST As an alumni, we have a responsibility to see to it that we keep on growing. What you put in can’t be erased…. You can’t be replaced. In time, changes is introduced to the system, You can’t attack the system when you’re inside. You should get out. You should comply with the requirements

___________________________________________________________ 

We also have our own set of frustrations during our students years, even multiplied when we graduated. I’m only a few years out here in the real world. I have pretty much understand how college should have been – or how I could have been to make me more equipped as an engineer. I know we can’t learn everything in school but there’s so much it could have done.

Comments»

1. pearl - May 14, 2008

Now you guys are starting to talk- now you are talking. keep it up and keep talking your minds and hearts out. Just be objective and reasonable like engineers.

2. jomaykulit - May 15, 2008

hi mam pearl.. thanks for dropping by. spread the word. spice up the world!

3. pedo - June 12, 2008

patay na kami ngaun.. hehe

4. pearl - June 22, 2009

jomaykulit -june 2009

Hi guys! Finally the street in front of engg looks decent. I wonder if you are happy with the humps painted yellow zebra. I notice some poor cars getting ‘hurt’ by the degree of the incline, hehehe… I hope your cars are of the better breed, the world out there is quite dangerous.

But the world goes on, and how are your grades? I am most content when i see you in your togas at the PICC….

Kaya niyo yan, matataas ang i.q. ninyo, sipag lang at focus.

What do you think of classes having 50-55 students per section? Do you think it is effective?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

